The Alchemist

One of the things I love is sitting down with a good book and reading it for hours. The book I have most recently read is The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. My Dad and Brother recommended this book to me a while ago but I thought it wasn’t the type of book that I usually read but after reading reviews on Goodreads I decided to give it a go and I have to say that I’m glad I did.

The book is a fable about following your desires and your dreams.

‘When you really want something, all the world conspires in helping you to acheive it’ 

This is the most important and famous quote from the novel and reading it just gives you the push and the encouragement to follow your dreams and do what you want to do. Several morals such as this quote are told through the story of a boy who decides to follow his recurring dreams telling him to travel to the pyramids to get his treasure. The story is sweet and simple yet makes you realise the importance of following your dreams and gives you the encouragement that you need. I loved this book, and would be interested in reading other Paulo Coelho novels in the future and I would definitely recommend this book to other people.

alc

 

Leave a Reply

